OJEA and NWSP now accepting applications for Teacher of the Year and more


We’re now accepting applications for Mary Hartman Oregon Journalism Teacher of the Year, Oregon Rookie Adviser of the Year, and Oregon High School Journalist of the Year. 

DEADLINE: FEBRUARY 15th for all awards 

The Mary Hartman Oregon Journalism Teacher of the Year (TOTY) and Oregon Rookie Journalism Teacher of the Year (RTOTY) are open to any active journalism teacher and/or publication adviser at an Oregon public or private high school. RTOTY must have less than two years of experience to quality for the award. 

Nominations are accepted from principals, professional journalists, fellow teachers, or students. Individuals may also self-nominate. The selection will be made by representatives from the Oregon Journalism Education Association, Northwest Scholastic Press Association, the University of Oregon School of Journalism and Communications faculty, and Oregon Newspapers Publishers Association.

Winner of the TOTY will receive a plaque, plus a $500 cash award which is paid by an endowment from the Hartman family. RTOTY will also receive a plaque and a $250 cash award.

Nominations are simple: compile two issues of the school newspaper; one copy of the most recent yearbook; a tape of DVD of two broadcasts; or a reference to an online edition depending on what the nominated adviser oversees, two to five letters of recommendations from teachers; administrators; students; local professionals or community members who know the nominee’s work, and a completed nomination from. 

Application: Teacher of the Year/Oregon Rookie Adviser of the Year

Mail all materials to JEA State Director, J.D. McIntire. His address is on the TOTY flyer.

ADVISERS: let your students know about the Oregon High School Journalist of the Year. The scholarship/award is open to any active newspaper, yearbook, or broadcast/radio student at an Oregon public or private high school. The winner of the Oregon competition will automatically be entered to win national Journalist of the Year, sponsored by Journalism Education Association. The Oregon High School Journalist of the Year will be awarded the Alyce Sheetz Memorial Scholarship for $1,000.

Applicants need to submit an application form, high school transcript, three letters of recommendation, and action photo of the applicant involved in student media, resume, and self-analytical essay AND create an online portfolio. More information on how this needs to be presented is in the StateJOYapp PFD.

NOTE: All nominees MUST be current members of OJEA and NWSP. Find a copy of the membership form here.

Contact J.D. McIntire, JEA State Director and adviser at Sandy High School ([email protected]), or myself if you have any questions.