OJEA and NWSP now Accepting Applications for Oregon High School Journalist of the Year

Simone Myers, Education Programs Assistant

“The Oregon High School Journalist of the Year is co-sponsored by the Oregon Journalism Education Association (OJEA) and Northwest Scholastic Press Association (NWSP). The winner of the Oregon competition will automatically be entered in the National Journalist of the Year sponsored by the national Journalism Education Association. The Oregon High School Journalist of the Year will be awarded the Alyce Sheetz Memorial Scholarship for $1,000. The runner-up will receive $500.”

Application: Student Journalist of the Year Application

Entries must be emailed by midnight on February 15, 2015. NO LATE ENTRIES WILL BE ACCEPTED!

All applicants must be OJEA members to apply. There are also major changes to the application process, some of the biggest being:

  • ALL entries must be in the form of an online portfolio. Hard copy entires will not be accepted!
  • Submissions need to be emailed to JEA State Director J.D. McIntire at [email protected] by midnight on February 15th.
  • Do not use the JEA entry form for official entry. Included in this packet is a state entry form that should be used to enter the Oregon competition.

For additional information, please review the  Student Journalist of the Year Application and the JEA website. Guidelines can be found at jea.org/home/awards-honors/journalist-of-the-year/